with videoMathieu van der Poel has impressively added Paris-Roubaix to his palmares. The 28-year-old Dutchman raced solo over the final difficult cobbled section and had plenty of time to cheer on the iconic velodrome. It is Van der Poel’s fourth victory in a cycling monument, after the Tour of Flanders (2020 and 2022) and the Milan-San Remo earlier in the year.

Jorge Tanis

Last update:
04-09-23, 21:33

Jasper Philipsen completed the Alpecin-Deceuninck party in the fastest edition in history hell of the north. The Belgian raced, 46 seconds after the finish of his teammate Van der Poel, at the expense of his compatriot Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) to second place.

read also
• Van der Poel: ‘One of my best days on a bike’
• Van der Poel’s impressive track record
• Van der Poel comforts Degenkolb’s crying: ‘I’m sorry, man’
• This is how Mathieu van der Poel became a true ‘Monument Man’ in Roubaix

Mathieu van der Poel wins.
Mathieu van der Poel wins. ©REUTERS

At Carrefour de l’Arbre, the last cobblestone section rated five stars (the toughest category), former winner John Degenkolb crashed. The German had made contact with Van der Poel, who should have swerved slightly towards Philipsen.

Due to that incident, Van Aert was only in the lead for a while, but Van der Poel quickly made up the gap. Not long after, the Dutchman sped up. Van Aert appeared to follow, but then had to deal with a flat tire. In the final kilometres, Van der Poel held out against an elite group.

(text continues below photo)

It was the fastest edit in history hell of the north: 46,841 kilometers per hour. The old record was held by Dylan van Baarle (45.792 km/h). The defending champion, with a contract with Jumbo-Visma since this year, had to leave in the 120th edition after a fall on the cobblestones of Bos van Wallers-Arenberg.

Last week Van der Poel finished second behind Tadej Pogacar in the Tour of Flanders. The two-time Tour de France champion from Slovenia was not among the cobblestones of northern France. Van der Poel is the fourth cyclist to win both Milan-San Remo and Paris-Roubaix in one year. Cyrille Van Hauwaert (1908), Sean Kelly (1986) and Degenkolb (2015) have done it before.

Mathieu van der Poel on the podium with the trophy.
Mathieu van der Poel on the podium with the trophy. ©REUTERS

Bax in early flight

After the first few cobblestone sections, a group had finally formed that rode ahead. Among the quartet was the Dutchman Sjoerd Bax. Van Aert started before the infamous Bos van Wallers. Degenkolb, Christophe Laporte and Van der Poel, among others, took the lead.

The six quickly joined the three remaining leaders, Laporte crashing out at the front with a puncture. Van der Poel had two teammates with Belgians Philipsen and Gianni Vermeersch in a group that also included strong Italian Filippo Ganna, Dane Mads Pedersen and Swiss Stefan Küng.

Mathieu van der Poel in the lead.
Mathieu van der Poel in the lead. ©AFP

Van der Poel accelerated at least four times in the elite group in front. On the cobblestones of Camphin-en-Pévèle (four stars), more than twenty kilometers from the finish line, Van der Poel and Van Aert watched each other at the rear of the group.

In the five-star strip of Carrefour de l’Arbre, often the decisive strip, Philipsen set the pace. Degenkolb went down after light contact with Van der Poel, after which Van Aert attacked. The decision came shortly after with Van Aert’s backhand. The Dutchman continued alone and after a solo fifteen kilometers he only reached the Roubaix track.

Do you want to relive the race? Read our live blog below:

podcasts on the wheel

cycling videos

comment can be found at the bottom of this article. Only comments with a full name will be posted. We do that because we want a debate with people who stand up for what they say and therefore put their name on it. Those who still need to enter their name can do so by clicking ‘Login’ at the top right of our site.